Code

Title

credits

Weeks

Ist session

Tutor

room

time

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Autumn term 2017 - trimester 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

IRD M025

International Relations Theory

20, CY

1-11 & 15-17

4th Oct

Glyn Daly

H 39

Wed, 2-4

IRD M030

European Integration

10, Des

8-11, 15-17

20th Nov

Suzanne McDonald-Walker

H 39

Wed, 12-2

IRD M031

America After 9/11

10, Des

8-11, 15-17

20th Nov

David Waller/Ron Mendel

H 39

Wed, 4-6

IRD M078

Political Economies of International Development

20, Des

1-11 & 15-17

4th Oct

Alison Hume/Shawky Arif

F 31

Mon, 3-6(?)

IRD M080

Politics of Aid

10 Des

1-7

4th Oct

Suzanne McDonald-Walker

H 39

Wed 12-2

Law M016

European and International Human Rights

20, Des

1-11, 15-16

4th Oct

Kirstie Best/Sarah Willis,

H 39

Wed, 9-12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spring Term 2018 - trimester 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

IRDM033

Peoples Republic of China

10 Des

18-24

29th Jan

Richard Sanders

N 25

Thurs 1-3

IRD M048

Politics of East Africa

10 Des

25-26, 29-33

19th March

Kevin Deane

N 17

Mon 10-12

IRD M051

Methodology & Research design

20, CY

18-25/28-31

29th Jan

Suzanne McDonald-Walker

C 311/312

Wed 9-11

IRD M076

Politics of Sub-Saharan Africa

10 CY

 

 

Graham McBeath

tba

tba

IRD M077

Politics of International Communications

10 Des

19-26

5th Feb

Graham McBeath

S0010

Tues, 11-1

IRD M079

Major Organisations in the International Order

20, CY

19-32

5th Feb

Various tutors

S029/H39

Thurs 11-1

Law M017

National Security, Terrorism & the Rule of Law

20 Des

18-26; 29-32

29th Jan

Nick Cartwright /Simon Sneddon

H 39

Wed,  2-5

 

CY = compulsory; Des = optional

 

 

         

Trimester 3 (summer 2018) Dissertation

Module

Credit

Status

Subject

Starts

IRD M037

60

Compulsory (CY)

Dissertation

3rd June

 

 

We encourage you to take at least 60 credits worth of modules in  trimester 1 and 2 to spread out your work-load but, you can do a minimum of 40 credits and a maximum of 80 credits so long as you complete 120 credits of taught modules in trimesters 1 and 2.

 

 

for Trimester 1 (Sept 2017 - Jan 2018): You have to do  IRD M025 (IR Theory)

for Trimester 2 (Feb - May, 2018) you have to do the compulsory modules: M079 and M051.

Trimester 3 is May - Aug, 2018 - the period in which you write you dissertation to be submitted by 29th September, 2018


Tutors teaching on the MA IR Course.

Name of Tutor

Teaching

Office

Tel no.

email

Shawky Arif

IRD M078

 

 

shawky.arif@northampton.ac.uk

Kirstie Best

Law M016

N.40

x2360

kirstie.best@northampton.ac.uk

Nick Cartwright

Law M017

N.41

X2091

nick.cartwright@northampton.ac.uk

Glyn Daly

IRD M025 & M079

F.32

x2545

glyn.daly@northampton.ac.uk

Kevin Deane

IRD M048 & M078

 

 

kevin.deane@northampton.ac.uk

Alison Hulme

IRD M078

 

 

alison.hulme@northampton.ac.uk

Graham McBeath

IRD M076, M077, M079

F.4

x2481

graham.mcbeath@northanpton.ac.uk

Suzanne McDonald-Walker

IRD M030 & M051

F.31

x2139

suzanne.mcdonald-Walker@northampton.ac.uk

Ron Mendel

IRD M031 & 79

F.3

x2475

ron.mendel@northampton.ac.uk

Richard Sanders

IRD M033

tbc

n/a

richard.sanders@northampton.ac.uk

Simon Sneddon

Law M017

N.41

x2456

simon.sneddon@northampton.ac.uk

David Waller

IRD M031 & 79

F.4

x2096

david.waller@northampton.ac.uk

Sarah Willis

Law M016

N.43

x2330

sarah.willis@northampton.ac.uk

If you call on an outside line, Univ telephone numbers are 01604 89+extension number, so my number is: 01604 892481

 

2016-17 - Codes for the University Buildings

B

Brampton

X

Mobile

C

Cottesbrooke

Y

Yelvertoft

D

Delapre

Lp

Lamport

DLT

Delapre Lecture Theatre

MX

Mobile MX

F

Fawsley

N

Naseby

G

Grendon

R

Rockingham

GLT

Grendon Lecture Theatre

SE

Senate Building

 H

Holdenby

SC

Student Centre

HLT

Holdenby Lecture Theatre

S

Sulgrave

K

Kelmarsh

L

Leatherseller Centre

 

 


2017-18 calendar/university weeks

 

2.10.17            1

9.10.17            2

16.10.17          3

23.10.17          4

30.10.17          5

6.11.17            6

13.11.17          7

20.11.17          8

27.11.17          9

4.12.17            10

11.12.17          11

18.12.17          12

25.12.17          13

1.1.18              14

8.1.18              15

15.1.18            16

22.1.18            17

29.1.18            18

5.2.18              19

12.2.18            20

19.2.18            21

26.2.18            22

5.3.18              23

12.3.18            24

19.3.18            25

26.3.18            26

2.4.18              27

9.4.18              28

16.4.18            29

23.4.18            30

30.4.18            31

7.5.18              32

14.5.18            33

21.5.18            34

28.5.18            35