Autumn term 2016 - trimester 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

Code

Title

credits

Weeks

Ist session

Tutor

room

time

IRD M025

International Relations

20, CY

1-11, 15

5th Oct

Glyn Daly

H.39

Wed 2-4

IRD M047

International Politics of Post-Soviet space

10, Des

1-6

5th Oct

Les Benson

H.39

Wed 12-2

IRD M028

The Politics of Latin American Development

10, Des

1-6

6th Oct

Nick Sage

B.22

Thurs 4-6

IRD M030

European Integration

10, Des

7-11, 15

17th Nov

Suzanne McDonald-Walker

S.138

Thurs 11-1

IRD M031

America After 9/11

10, Des

7,10,15 (N25); 8,9,11 (S029)

17th Nov

David Waller/Ron Mendel

N25 & S029

Thurs 4-6

Law M016

European and International Human Rights

20, Des

1-11, 15

5th Oct

Kirstie Best/Sarah Willis,

H39

Wed  9.30-11.30

IRD M078

Political Economies of International Development

20, Des

1-11, 15

4th Oct

Kevin Deane, Suzanne McDonald-Walker

B.5

Tues 4-6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spring Term 2017 - trimester 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

IRD M079

Major Organisations in the International Order

20, CY

19-34

2nd Feb

Various tutors

H39

Thurs 11-1

IRDM033

Peoples Republic of China

10 Des

19-25

2nd Feb

Richard Sanders

N.25

Thurs 1-3

IRD M048

Politics of  East Africa

10 Des

TBA

 

Kevin Deane

tba

tba

IRD M051

Methodology & Research design

20, CY

18-25; 28-34

25th Jan

Suzanne McDonald-Walker

C.204

Wed 9-11

IRD M077

Politics of International Communications

10 Des

19-25

31st Jan

Graham McBeath

S.008

Tues 11-1

Law M017

National Security, Terrorism & the Rule of Law

20 Des

17-25; 28-31

18th Jan

Nick Cartwright/Simon Sneddon

H.39

Wed 2-5

 

CY = compulsory; Des = optional

 

Trimester 3 (summer 2016) Dissertation

Module

Credit

Status

Subject

Starts

IRD M037

60

Compulsory (CY)

Dissertation

3rd June

 

We encourage you to take at least 60 credits worth of modules in  trimester 1 and 2 to spread out your work-load but, you can do a minimum of 40 credits and a maximum of 80 credits so long as you complete 120 credits of taught modules in trimesters 1 and 2.

 

for Trimester 1 (5th Oct 2016 -  13th Jan 2017): You have to do IRD M025 (IR Theory (1))

For Trimester 2 (16th Jan - 28th April, 2017) you have to do the compulsory modules: M079 and M051.

Trimester 3 is Ist May - 26th Sept, 2017 - the period in which you write you dissertation to be submitted by 3rd Octoberr, 2017

Tutors teaching on the MA IR Course.

Name of Tutor

Teaching

Office

Tel no.

email

Leslie Benson

IRD M047

tbc

 

leslie.benson@northampton.ac.uk

Kirstie Best

Law M016

N.40

x2360

kirstie.best@northampton.ac.uk

Nick Cartwright

Law M017

N.41

X2091

nick.cartwright@northampton.ac.uk

Glyn Daly

IRD M025 & M079

F.32

x2545

glyn.daly@northampton.ac.uk

Kevin Deane

IRD M048, M078

 

X3485

Kevin.deane@northampton.ac.uk

Graham McBeath

IRD M077 & M079

F.4

x2481

graham.mcbeath@northanpton.ac.uk

Suzanne McDonald-Walker

IRD M030, M051, M079

F.31

x2139

suzanne.mcdonald-Walker@northampton.ac.uk

Ron Mendel

IRD M031, M079

F.3

x2475

ron.mendel@northampton.ac.uk

Nick Sage

IRD M028

tbc

 

nick.sage@northampton.ac.uk

Richard Sanders

IRD M033

tbc

n/a

richard.sanders@northampton.ac.uk

Simon Sneddon

Law M017

N.41

x2456

simon.sneddon@northampton.ac.uk

David Waller

IRD M031, M079

F.4

x2096

david.waller@northampton.ac.uk

Sarah Willis

Law M016

N.43

x2330

sarah.willis@northampton.ac.uk

If you call on an outside line, Univ telephone numbers are 01604 89+extension number, so my number is: 01604 892481

 

 

2016-17 - Codes for the University Buildings

B

Brampton

X

Mobile

C

Cottesbrooke

Y

Yelvertoft

D

Delapre

Lp

Lamport

DLT

Delapre Lecture Theatre

MX

Mobile MX

F

Fawsley

N

Naseby

G

Grendon

R

Rockingham

GLT

Grendon Lecture Theatre

SE

Senate Building

 H

Holdenby

SC

Student Centre

HLT

Holdenby Lecture Theatre

S

Sulgrave

K

Kelmarsh

L

Leatherseller Centre

 

 

 


University weeks and dates for 2016-17

Wk no.

Starts

1

3rd October 2016

2

10th

3

17

4

24

5

31

6

7th November

7

14

8

21

9

28

10

5th December

11

12

12

19

13

26

14

2nd January 2017

15

9

16

16

17

23

18

30

19

6th February

20

13

21

20

22

27

23

6th March

24

13

25

20

26

27

27

3rd April

28

10

29

17

30

24

31

1st May

32

8

33

15

34

22